About Us

townThe history of our firm dates back to 1891. The current firm name “Clarke & Gee” was first used in 1932 and we have been operating under this name ever since. Documents indicate that the use of the ampersand in our name was adopted from the outset and it now forms an iconic part of our brand identity.

In 1950, one or the firm’s partners, Don Gee, purchased the property opposite the supreme court in Cameron Street, Launceston. Don Gee was told he was making a grave mistake by moving his practice to this site as it was too far away from the CBD and that his clients would not want to go far from the business district to meet with a solicitor.

In 1962, Clarke & Gee moved their office to 109 Cameron Street, Launceston and extensive renovations were carried out on the building to accommodate office use. This included alterations to the facade which was designed by prominent Tasmanian architects and supported by the Launceston City Council.

In 2019, Clarke & Gee moved into new, purpose designed premises at ground floor, Exa House, 73 Paterson Street, Launceston.

Clarke & Gee has had some very prominent partners in its recent history, including Geoff Chaplin, John Wilson, Don Wing, Ray Bailey, Bruce Doolan, Tim Ellis and Philip Welch.

A modern approach with traditional values

Clarke & Gee continues to thrive under the current director, Rick Reid. He pays tribute to the firm’s history while continuing to grow and evolve the firm to remain relevant in today’s world. We have a dedicated and talented team of legal professionals and support staff and practice in a wide range of legal areas.